Made the television news and went skiing!

November 16, 2007

I was in the news last night! My buddy is a newscaster on WCAX and interviewed me about the ski season and how Warren Miller fires me up. Truth be told, Warren didn’t come through for me this time (“Playground” trailer here), but that’s another post, maybe tomorrow. Anyways, I got MULTIPLE seconds! Check it out, although you need Windows Media Player.

Okemo, November 16, 1

Okemo, this afternoon.

And yes, I went skiing at Okemo! Well, sort of. That is to say I planned on skiing for a few runs and I ended up doing only one. This was due to the fact that: 1) The puppy I’m puppy-sitting likes taunting me in the woods. 2) I forgot my boots. (Not the first time, not the last.) Luckily, I realized about 5 minutes into the trip. 3) Season’s pass office was not where I thought it was. 4) I had to stand (not walk) on a looong magic carpet to get to a slooow lift to get to a sloooow lift to get to the traverse over to the section with pitch. 5) I was the first person ski patrol sent down. I had to download from the top. It was a great relaxing ride down though!

Okemo, November 16, 2

Okemo this afternoon, with a light coating of fresh!

That being said, it rocked! The styrofoam ice-snow was all scraped to the sides and it felt like real snow. And at the top (the only part open) there was probably about 3″ of fresh snow. The sun came out and it was just beautiful. Anyways, first day they were open I and got the feel of it again.

Okemo, November 16, 3

Okemo, snow was actually pretty nice!

I’m ready for ski season.

Leave a comment