Sugarbush, Sugarbush, Sugarbush and Noreaster and Snow Update

December 14, 2007

I know I’ve been fearfully absent from the blogosphere of late, but I swear, I’m back.

Steve at Sugarbush

Steve at Sugarbush a few hours ago zooming past me

I just had an amazing day at Sugarbush today. I’ve only skied there about 10 times, but every time I always left it saying, “I wish Sugarbush was my home mountain”. Here are my reasons:

1. Amazing glades. Cut glades. Locals glades. Mellow birch glades. Steep spruce glades. Hardwood glades. You get the idea.

2. Some real New England runs. Sorry Okemo, I love you and all, (well, I wouldn’t go that far), but seriously, does every trail need to be the width of a football field? Rumble. Just another example of a good ol’ east coast natural snow winding trail full of sticks and stones that might break your bones but will put a big smile on your face, trail.

3. Ridiculous snow. It snowed 5 inches at my house last night. It snowed about the same at Sugarbush last night. Then today it snowed ALL DAY when it was called for possible occasional snow showers.

4. Lift accessible back-country. No, we didn’t go into Slide Brook Ravine. But once Mt. Ellen opens, there will be a shuttle happens to go by the exit from the ravine.

5. Great snowmaking and grooming for days when the Mother N. is non-cooperative.

6. The “je ne sais quoi. ”

Oh, I want to move up there.

As far as the snow situation is concerned, things in central and northern Vermont are looking great. From first-hand experience, Sugarbush woods have about 3-4 feet. It’s skiing deep. My backyard in Windsor, VT has about 4 inches of fluff on top of a nice crust with about 4 inches below. Beautiful.

First, some stats:

Sugarbush has had 10 inches in the last 48 hours. (And I think that’s low.)

Jay Peak is getting dumped on with over a foot in the last 24 hours. All lifts and almost all trails are open.

The Mt. Mansfield snow stake is at 42 inches. The average for this time of year: 24 inches.

AND THAT’S BEFORE THE STORM!

All signs are pointing toward a HUGE dump on Sunday! According to Joshua Fox at the Single Chair Weather Blog, Mad River could see more than two feet! There will be some sleet, but it looks like no freezing rain and it’s going to start and end with snow. Lots of it. Unfortunately, it looks like lower elevations aren’t going to get nearly as much, but you never know.

And if you really want to see what’s going on in the country, weather-wise, check out this radar map from NOAA that has the whole country.

One Response to “Sugarbush, Sugarbush, Sugarbush and Noreaster and Snow Update”


  1. Have you ever tried Burke?


Leave a comment