The Mount Moosilauke Project: An Introduction

November 21, 2007

First Day of Spring, Mt. Moosilauke from South Summit

Mount Moosilauke from South Summit, First Day of Spring

Over the past year, I quit my job and began working on a coffee table/resource book about Mount Moosilauke in New Hamphshire. I have been trying to photograph at the mountain a minimum of three days per month and I will be done in February. I have also recruited a few folks to write about the ecology/forest of the mountain and the regioin as well as the geology of the mountain. I am currently working with somebody on describing the history of both Dartmouth College and the general public with the mountain.

I could spend a lot of time describing the mountain, throughout this series up until the publishing of the book, hopefully in June, 2008. However, I’m going to start off by showing a few of the photos that represent the type of work in the book. It primarily is a book that will hopefully reveal my love, appreciation for, and attachment to this amazing place.

I worked there for number of years during the infancy of my photography career as the manager of the Moosilauke Ravine Lodge. However I have a number of slides that will be scanned and incorporated into the book. For the time being however, most of the photographs were shot since March. Please note that I’m adding a Mt. Moosilauke blogroll on the sidebar. I’m going to link to all the good sources of information on Mt. Moosilauke and hopefully this will become a resource for all information and photographs of the mountain. I will also include hiking information, skiing information and trip reports.

Grass in the Wind

Grass in the Wind

I thought I’d take this opportunity to point you to my photography website. I have not mentioned this since the beginning of the blog but please check out www.EliBurak.com. As those of you who have seen this site before can attest, I need to add more photos and change this site. I hope to be making major renovations before the New Year.

Please comment on the photography and feel free to let me know if you would like to post something about Moosilauke. Soon I will have a separate page devoted to Moosilauke, but for the time being, just look up “Moosilauke” in the category cloud at the bottom of the sidebar or search for it. Also, all critiques on any photo here are very welcome, whether positive or negative.

Butterfly on Dandelion

Butterfly on Dandelion

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment